So, we talked about the tapes. You know the one. It plays over and over. It tears you down with words so sharp they cut through to your very core. And you’ve heard them so much you begin to live up to only the potential they allude to. How do we break the tapes? Let’s talk about the lies… we’ll call them “BULL”. These are the words and phrases that are so nasty we would never say them out loud, nor would we EVER say them about another human being. What are they? What are your tapes telling you? I battle tapes that tell me, “You’re not smart enough to take on that project.” “Your ideas will never work.” “You’re not strong enough to lift that.” “Well, you’ve already gained 10 pounds, you might as well eat that cake.” “No one REALLY cares what you have to say.” “You don’t have anything to contribute here.” “Your goals aren’t important.”

Do any of these sound familiar to you? Now that we’ve identified some tapes, let’s record over them. We’ll call this segment NO BULL. “I am smart enough and what I don’t know, I’ll research until I know more. I am capable.” “You never know if your ideas will or won’t work unless you try.” As my Grandpa used to say, “If you don’t go you won’t know.” “You can only get stronger by lifting more, so go for it!!” “That cake will be enjoyable for about 5 minutes—you will feel stronger having made the decision to JUST SAY NO. You’re worth it.” “No one else can offer what you can, so through your ideas out there. Take a risk.” “Your goals might change the world….ok, they may change YOUR world, but ‘if you want to make the world a better place, take a look at yourself and make the…CHANGE.”

This idea is very much like the “put on, put off” principle. If you’re a Christian, you may know exactly what I’m talking about. If not, well… google it. If you’re a Christian, try to put off your BULL list with scripture in your NO BULL list. This practice will help you take captive your thoughts and remind you who you really are. Or better yet, whose you really are.

I struggle ALL THE TIME with these very thoughts. ALL DAY. EVERY DAY.

I was hanging out with my girlfriend who oozes confidence. She’s a fitness model, sponsored athlete, wife, mom, and most important of all, a Christian. I want to hang out with her all the time in hopes some of her ooze sticks onto me. OK, that sounds super creepy and a little gross… I digress. Anyway, she had just purchased a new pair of gym shoes and we were lacing them up. I noticed the brand… NOBULL. That’s exactly what I needed to remember in the gym, NO BULL. I asked her about the shoes and she confessed of her addiction.

Shortly thereafter I started seeing more and more athletes sporting the brand. When I asked another girlfriend what she thought about her floral pair, she said, “I absolutely love mine! I’m not sure I will ever buy [N@^0$] ever again!! I highly recommend them. The down side is that they are not mass produced and it’s hard to get a pair. I preordered mine at midnight on the release night and then the next morning they were already sold out.”

Most people simply say, “I love them!!” Even the dudes

So, weather you’re in the gym or in the office, listen to the tape, stop it, and rewrite over it… and if you need a reminder in the gym, there’s a rockin’ shoe out there that’s got your name written all over it.

SDG

